Filipino Foodstyles:  Pandan Macapuno Cake

This year I decided to make my husband a pandan (screwpine leaves) flavoured cake with macapuno (a mutant form of the coconut; gelatinous in texture with a tastier flavour)  filling and frosting. Pandan and macapuno are two of the Asian flavours he just loves and I thought he would be delighted if I combine the two. I was so right. Just a whiff of the brewing pandan leaves got him excited already. I don’t think I need to tell you how he reacted to the finished birthday cake.  (Hint: if you cannot obtain pandan leaves, there is a green-colored Pandan extract that you can purchase from any Filipino/Asian food store. Just use 1 teaspoon for the recipe.  Pandan in your cooking steamed white Jasmine rice is also so delish … just sayin’!)  […]

Leave a comment